Establishment of Community Councils Scheme

Aberdeenshire Council is committed to a decentralised pattern of local government and service delivery. The Council's Statement of Aims and Values highlights the importance of working with local communities:

we will involve our many communities by consulting and working together

Community councils have a key role to play and the Scheme provides a framework within which they and the Council can co-operate and work together.

The Council is committed to ensuring successful consultation and working together with Community Councils in all areas of the Council's responsibilities.

Following consultation with the public, Aberdeenshire Council finalised the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils. This Scheme came into effect on 1st April 2001.

All Community Councils are required to operate within the terms of the Scheme.

Community Councils

Community Councils are voluntary bodies, which exist within a statutory framework, and which have been granted statutory rights of consultation. The general purpose of a community council is to ascertain, co-ordinate and express the views of the entire community within its agreed boundaries. Community Councils can help ensure that the Council is as fully informed as possible about the circumstances, needs and wishes of local communities.

Community Councils are non-party-political and non-sectarian in their discussions and in their decision-making.

Community councils, unlike other community organisations, are statutorily included in the consultation process for all planning applications affecting their area. There are also specific powers in relation to licensing.

As community planning develops, this will emphasize the need for the Council to develop its relationship with community councils as part of its engagement with our local communities.

Advice and Assistance

Copies of the Scheme and supporting information are available for inspection in the following Council offices and in each public library within Aberdeenshire.

  • Town House, 34 Low Street, Banff AB45 1AN
  • Arbuthnot House, Broad Street, Peterhead AB42 1DA
  • Area Office, 2 Schoolhill Road, Ellon AB41 9AN
  • Gordon House, Blackhall Road, Inverurie AB51 3WA
  • Viewmount, Arduthie Road, Stonehaven AB39 2DQ
  • Area Office, School Road, Alford AB33 8TY

The Area Manager at each of the above addresses will be pleased to assist with any query in regard to the Scheme and provide any advice as may be required.

As part of its commitment to working with Community Councils, the Council will do its best within available resources to make grants to assist Councils carry out their various responsibilities. Where practically and financially feasible, the Council will also make its premises available for use by Community Councils for their meetings.


Help us improve