A to Z Index:


European Parliament Election 2014

The European Parliament Election will take place in the UK on Thursday, 22nd May this year. Electors will be asked to cast their vote on the ballot paper for one of a number of political parties or individual candidates. Votes cast within the electoral region of Scotland will be aggregated from each local authority area and six MEPs will be elected.

Further details about European Parliament Election can be found here.

Scottish Independence Referendum

A Referendum on Scottish Independence will be held on Thursday, 18th September, 2014. Voters will be asked to place a cross next to the Yes or No option on the ballot paper in response to the question: “Should Scotland be an independent country?”

Further information about this Referendum can be found here.

Electoral Participation

A Schools Election project wa organised by the Council’s Electoral Participation Group  involving Ellon Academy, Turriff Academy and Meldrum Academy.

Further details about this project can be found on the Schools Election 2014 webpages.

The previous electoral participation project took place in June last year, primarily involving Ellon Academy. Pupils residing in the Ellon and Foveran Community Council areas voted for fellow pupils who stood for election as part of the Council’s Community Council Pilot Project. Those elected were co-opted for one year as full members of the relevant community council. Further details about this project can be found on the Schools Election 2013 webpages.

Details of the highly successful Schools Elections 2010 and 2011 can be found here and on the HMIE website (25.9MB).

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

Each council is required by law to carry out a review every fifth year to ensure that it provides facilities for voting and that polling places are accessible to all electors, including voters with a disability. For more information on the current review, please visit our Statutory Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places web pages. A similar review was undertaken in 2011, full details of which can be found here.

Aberdeenshire Schools Referendum on Scottish Independence

Aberdeenshire Council has once again run a major schools election project, this time based on the Referendum on Scottish Independence scheduled to take place nationally on 18th September, 2014. The Aberdeenshire Schools Referendum on Scottish Independence involved pupils from all 17 secondary schools in the Council area plus all 4 special schools.

Voting in an election is your chance to help decide who makes decisions that affect you every day.

Under the direction of the Returning Officer, Council staff are responsible for running all elections, which include the election of councilors to Aberdeenshire Council as well as MSPs, MPs and MEPs for the area. For information on specific election topics such as previous election results, how and where to vote, and voting systems, please follow the links on the left of this page.

Who represents me?

Information on who represents you on Aberdeenshire Council, in the Scottish Parliament and Westminster, and in Europe, can be found on the following page. You can also find your local polling station by using our mapping service.

Local Government Elections 2012 - New Reports Available

For information on the elections to Aberdeenshire Council on 3 May, 2012, including the results for each ward please view our Local Government Elections 2012 webpage. Further reports are now available on these pages, showing patterns of candidate preference expressed by voters at the elections.

Sixth Review of UK Parliamentary Constituencies

In September, 2012, the Boundary Commission published its revised proposals for constituencies as part of the Sixth Review of UK Parliamentary Constituencies. In January this year, the UK Parliament decided not to proceed with the current review and to conduct a new review after 2015 instead.

Full details of the review can be found on the Commission's website at www.bcomm-scotland.gov.uk.


For more information on these projects please contact our Election Team.

If your query relates to whether you are on the electoral register or if you wish to apply for a postal or proxy vote, please contact the Electoral Registration Officer.