A to Z Index:
  • Share this page
    facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus E-mail

UK General Election 2010



Electorate 73,420
Total votes cast 48,825
Percentage poll 66.5%

  • Malcolm Bruce (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 17,575
  • Barney Crockett (Scottish Labour Party) 9,811
  • Sue Edwards (Scottish Green Party) 752
  • Elise Jones (BNP) 699
  • Richard Thomson (SNP) 10,827
  • Ross Thomson (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 9,111

Ballot papers rejected 50

Total votes 48,825

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

Electorate 66,110
Total votes cast 45,256
Percentage poll 68.45%

  • Anthony Atkinson (UK Independence Party) 397
  • Alex Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 13,678
  • Gary Raikes (BNP) 513
  • Dennis Robertson (SNP) 7,086
  • Sir Robert Smith (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 17,362
  • Greg Williams (Scottish Labour Party) 6,159

Ballot papers rejected 61

Total votes 45,256

Banff and Buchan

Electorate 64,300
Total votes cast 38,513
Percentage poll 59.90%

  • Jimmy Buchan (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 11,841
  • Galen Milne (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 4,365
  • Richard Payne (BNP) 1,010
  • Glen Reynolds (Scottish Labour Party) 5,382
  • Eilidh Whiteford (SNP) 15,868

Ballot papers rejected 47

Total votes 38,513

A UK Parliamentary General Election has been called for Thursday, 6 May, 2010. Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm. Eligible voters can check the location of their polling place with the Notice of Situation of Polling Stations below.



Nominations have now closed for those who wish to stand in Aberdeenshire constituencies at the forthcoming General Election.

The final list of candidates for the election on 6th May is as follows:

Banff and Buchan Constituency

  • Jimmy Buchan (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Galen Milne (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Richard Kenneth Payne (British National Party)
  • Glen Reynolds (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Eilidh Whiteford (Scottish National Party (SNP))


Gordon Constituency

  • Malcolm Gray Bruce (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Barney Crockett (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Sue Edwards (Scottish Green Party)
  • Elise Mary Jones (British National Party)
  • Richard Gordon Thomson (Scottish National Party (SNP))
  • Ross Thomson (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)


West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine Constituency

  • Anthony Neville Graham Atkinson (UK Independence Party)
  • Alex Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Gary Raikes (British National Party)
  • Dennis Robertson (Scottish National Party (SNP))
  • Sir Robert Smith (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Greg Williams (Scottish Labour Party)



Although the deadline has now passed for applying to vote by post at this election, proxy votes may be available for those who are unable to vote in person. You can register for one of these by contacting the ERO by no later than 27 April.


A further briefing session will take place for candidates or their agents on Friday, 23 April, 2010 at 2.00 p.m. in Committee Room 5, Woodhill House, Aberdeen. On that occasion, discussion will concentrate on arrangements for the overnight count on 6/7 May at Aberdeen Exhibition & Conference Centre.

Any prospective candidate (or their representative) wishing to attend the above event should e-mail Allan Bell, Depute Returning Officer, at allan.bell@aberdeenshire.gov.uk or telephone 01224 665119.


Practical details on how to vote and other election matters are available on our Electoral Participation pages.

Election Contacts:

Banff & Buchan Constituency – Malcolm McAuslin
Tel: 01261 813307
Email: malcolm.mcauslin@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Gordon Constituency – Robert McGregor
Tel: 01467 628329
Email: robert.mcgregor@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine Constituency – Donald Macpherson
Tel: 07717 530995
Email: donald.macpherson@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Election Unit, Aberdeenshire Council, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen, AB16 5GB
Telephone: 01224 665119