A to Z Index:
  • Share this page
    facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus E-mail

North East Scotland Climate Change Partnership

The North East Scotland Climate Change Partnership (NESCCP) was officially launched on 27 May 2008 at the All-Energy conference in Aberdeen.

They have a Twitter site and you can follow their tweets @nesccp

There are 17 members organisations. All the members have agreed the remit for the group and have signed a Climate Change Declaration.wind turbine

The NESCCP was formed in response to an Aberdeenshire Council, Scrutiny and Audit Committee report, 'The Bigger Issue' where Aberdeenshire Council agreed to adopt a recommendation that it "instigates an urgent dialogue with local partners to agree the actions, process and resources needed to achieve the aim of Aberdeenshire becoming a carbon neutral organisation in the medium term."

The purpose of the Partnership is to work together to assist the North East to address the implications of climate change.  This will include adaptation to the changes which are already occurring, and mitigation of the underlying causes and sources of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions.

nesccpThe members of the partnership are:

Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce, Aberdeen University, Aberdeenshire Council, Cairngorm National Park Authority, Federation of Small Businesses, Forestry Commission Scotland, Grampian Fire and Rescue Service, Grampian Police, James Hutton Institute, Moray Council, National Farmers Union Scotland, NHS Grampian, Robert Gordon University, Scottish Enterprise, Scottish Environment Protection Agency and Scottish Natural Heritage.

The group meet quarterly and below are links to the agenda and minutes of the previous meetings.

At the AGM on 11 January 2012. It was agreed that Prof Bill Slee from the James Hutton Institute should remain as Chair of the Partnership and Fraser Lovie from the University of Aberdeen will become the Depute.

The next meeting will be held on 19 September 2012, 10am at the University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen.