Average High Tide Variation:
35 minutes after Aberdeen
Latitude 56º 49'N
Longitude 02º 17'W
Mr James Brown
Tel: 01569 762741
Gourdon Harbour was built in 1820.
The earlier harbour was cramped holding only 8 boats.
The harbour has a sheltered inner basin protected by storm gates. Halfway up the hill there is a small lighthouse. There is still a small fleet of trawlers operating from the port. The east breakwater was built in 1958 and the west breakwater built in 1970.
Extending to 7200 square metres and now offering 330 metres of quay space, Gourdon is a double harbour where the main section is totally given over to fishing and the original, or Gutty Harbour, is used by pleasure craft. Over 20 boats have regular moorings there and harbour services are extensive, including diesel fuel, water and electricity and a marine engineering firm.
Gourdon is a South facing harbour with protective storm gates, the entrance to the Gutty Harbour is rocky and can be difficult to navigate but the main harbour entrance is more accessible.
Gourdon - Population 665
Visitors can buy fish from the filleting sheds by the Harbour.
There are attractive coastal walks in both directions from the town.
Both harbours dry out at low tide.
It is advisable to consult the Harbourmaster about arrival times and access.
- caravan site
- sea angling
- Post Office
The Schedule of Rates and Dues for Aberdeenshire Harbours and details of the Rover Ticket can be found on the Charges page.