The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe - CPMR

cpmr logo

The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR) is an independent network of over 150 European Regions from both within and outside the European Union representing peripheral maritime regions. The network operates to bring these regions together for discussion and debate on areas that are of common concern (agriculture, fisheries, transport, sustainable development, competition and EU regional policy) and ensures that these interests are acknowledged at a European level.

The three primary aims of the CPMR are:

  • To minimise the disadvantages encountered by Europe’s peripheral locations;
  • To promote Europe’s maritime dimension;
  • To exploit the benefits of the being close to European citizens at a regional level.

The network is divided into six Geographical Commissions to ensure that the work of the CPMR is carried out successfully, close to the areas that it affects. Aberdeenshire Council is a member of the North Sea Commission (NSC) and actively participates in its operation. More information about the NSC can be found on their website.

For further information about the CPMR please see:
The CPMR website.