The North Sea Commission (NSC)

The North Sea Commission logo

The North Sea Commission is one of six Commissions established under the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe (CPMR). The NSC aims to develop partnerships between the regions around the North Sea basin. Through co-operation, research, funding, policy statements and lobbying at a European level, the NSC aims to promote the region as an economic entity in Europe. This is made easier by sharing a common history and facing similar issues.

Eight nations are members of the NSC (Denmark, England, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Norway, Scotland and Sweden). Members co-operate through the NSC in order to develop projects, access European funding and influence EU policies.

The NSC has set up five thematic groups so that action can be focused on the key areas of concern common to the Region as a whole. The groups are:

  • Energy and Climate Change
  • Marine Resources
  • Transport
  • Smart RegionsĀ 

For further information about the NSC please see theĀ NSC website.