A to Z Index:
  • Share this page
    facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus E-mail

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

Duke of EdinburghThe Duke of Edinburgh’s Award offers young people an opportunity to develop their skills, interests and involvement in their community.

The award has three levels – Bronze, Silver and Gold, with a range of activities in each one. These activities are in four sections – Service (helping people in the community), Skills (covering almost any hobby, skill or interest), Physical recreation (sport, dance and fitness), Expedition (training for, planning and completing a journey on foot or horseback, by boat or cycle), and a Residential Project (gold award only, a purposeful enterprise with people not previously known to the participant). To gain each award an activity has to be achieved for every section.

There are various Award groups which run throughout Aberdeenshire in Community Centres and Schools. Contact your local Community Centre to find out more.

The following User Guides and Forms contains useful information that will aid Young People who are considering starting a Duke of Edinburgh's Award, as well as those who are currently working towards an award. This information will also be of use to Group Leaders and Volunteers.

General DofE Forms

User Guides (e-DofE)

Expedition Notification Paperwork (2012)

Additional Expedition Planning Resources

Emergency/Incident Response Process

Useful links