Cairngorms National Park Authority election

Aberdeenshire Council is responsible for running elections to Ward 5 of the Cairngorm National Park Authority. These elections take place every four years on an all-postal basis.

2019 election

The election was concluded on 21st March, 2019, with the count taking place in the Victoria Hall, Ballater.

The total number of votes cast for each candidate in Ward 5 was as follows:

  • Baird, Eric  - 436 votes
  • Blackett, Geva  - 592 votes

Geva Blackett was duly elected to serve on the Cairngorms National Park Authority for a 4 year period.

From an electorate of 2,323, total votes cast were 1028 representing a turnout of 44.25%.

2017 By-election

A By-election has taken place to elect a new member to represent Ward 5 of the Cairngorms National Park Authority area. This vacancy had arisen due to the resignation of Katrina Farquhar.

Five candidates contested the by-election and at the count at the Albert Hall in Ballater on Thursday, 30 March, Geva Blackett was declared the winner by the Council’s Depute Returning Officer, Allan Bell, with a majority of 57 over Lisa McMahon. The other candidates in the by-election were Stephen John Murphy, Anne Jane Reid  and Stuart Alexander Robertson.

View the formal documents:

2015 election

View Cairngorms National Park Authority 2015 Election results (pdf 18KB).

2011 election

Election was concluded on 17 March, 2011, with the count taking place in the Albert Hall, Ballater.

The winning candidate was Katrina Farquhar, with a majority of 356 over sitting member, Geva Blackett. The "turnout" at the election in this ward was 52%.

View the formal documents:

Nomination papers and other forms candidates require can be found below:-