East Garioch By-Election 2021

A Local Government By-Election took place on Thursday, 17th June 2021 to fill a vacancy in the East Garioch Ward.

Declaration of results

The total number of votes given for each candidate at the by-election was as follows:

  • Andy Brown (Scottish Labour Party) – 111 votes
  • David Keating (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party) – 1,240
  • Trevor Mason (Scottish Liberal Democrats) - 281
  • Jamie Ogilvie (Scottish Greens) - 130
  • Dan Ritchie (Scottish National Party SNP) - 963

David Keating has been duly elected as the councillor for the East Garioch ward.

The total electorate for the East Garioch ward was 10,445.

The number of first preferences was 2,725.

The percentage poll was 26.2%

Additional information


Notice of inspection of candidates’ expenses

Notice is hereby given that the Returns and Declarations, including the accompanying documents as to the Election Expenses, of each of the Candidates at the Local Government By-Election for the East Garioch Ward held on 17th June 2021 are open to inspection by any person at Aberdeenshire Council, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen AB16 5GB, during normal office hours and by prior appointment, for a period of two years.

Appointments can be made by contacting the Elections Office at


For further information about the Local Government By-Election, please contact our Elections team by emailing