Previous European Parliament Election results

View details of European Parliament Election results:

2019 European Parliament Election

Polls to elect the 6 members of the European Parliament for the Electoral Region of Scotland took place on Thursday, 23rd May 2019 between 7am and 10pm.

The count for the Aberdeenshire local counting area was held on Sunday, 26th May 2019 at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. 

The final electorate for the European Parliamentary Election for the Aberdeenshire Council area was 192,269. The number of papers counted at the verification stage was 74,266 representing a turnout of 38.6%. 259 votes were rejected.

View the formal declaration of results (PDF 135KB).

Party Number of votes Percentage
Change UK – The Independent Group 1,526 2.05%
Conservative and Unionist Party 13,297 17.90%
Labour Party 2,199 2.96%
Liberal Democrats 12,496 16.83%
Scottish Green Party 4,573  6.16%
Scottish National Party (SNP) 23,255 31.31%
The Brexit Party 14,671 19.75%
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 1,614 2.17%
Edgar, Gordon 279 0.38%
Parke, Ken 97 0.13%

View constituency breakdown of the election results for Aberdeenshire (PDF 22.1KB).
You can also view:

To find out more about the European Parliamentary Elections in the Aberdeenshire area, you can get in contact with our Election team at

2014 European Parliament Election

The European Parliament Election was held in the UK on Thursday, 22nd May 2014. Electors cast their vote for one of nine political parties on the ballot paper. Votes cast within the electoral region of Scotland were aggregated from each local authority area and six MEPs were elected.

The counting of votes in the Aberdeenshire Council area took place at the Garioch Sports Centre in Inverurie on Sunday, 25th May, with the result declared by the Local Returning Officer, Colin Mackenzie. The detailed Aberdeenshire result can be found here, together with the results for the Electoral region of Scotland.

The turnout in Aberdeenshire was 32.63%.

Declaration of Results:

Declaration of Results (PDF 17KB)

European Parliamentary Election 2014 - Electoral Region of Scotland Results:

Electoral Region of Scotland Results (PDF 15KB)

European Parliamentary Election 2014 - Electoral Region of Scotland - Summary of Votes Cast:

Electoral Region of Scotland - Summary of Votes Cast (PDF 187KB)

Notice of Election:

Notice of Election (PDF 276KB)

Notices of Situation of Polling Places:

Notice of Situation - Banff and Buchan Constituency Area (PDF 20KB)

Notice of Situation - Gordon Constituency Area (PDF 20KB)

Notice of Situation – West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine Constituency Area (PDF 21KB)


A local European Parliament Election briefing session was held on Monday, 28th April 2014, in Woodhill House, Aberdeen. This session provided further information about postal vote opening arrangements, polling and the count within the Aberdeenshire Council area. Packs containing additional information about local election arrangements were made available at the briefing.


A briefing for prospective candidates intending to contest the European Parliamentary Elections in Scotland, and for their election agents, took place on 25th March and was given by the Regional Returning Officer for the Electoral Region of Scotland, Mary Pitcaithly, with support from her staff, the Electoral Commission and Police Scotland. The event covered a range of information, including:

  • The nomination process
  • Important dates
  • Roles, responsibilities and key contacts
  • Campaign spending limits and behaviour
  • Postal Voting
  • Polling
  • The count (local and national)
  • Integrity controls

They are also available on the Electoral Management Board for Scotland website, while generic nomination papers can be accessed from the Electoral Commission website.

The deadline for the delivery of nomination papers was 4pm on 24th April.

For more information about the European Parliament Elections in the Aberdeenshire Council area, please contact the Aberdeenshire Council Election Team.

If your query relates to whether you are on the electoral register or if you wish to apply for a postal or proxy vote, please contact the Electoral Registration Officer.