Inverurie and District By-Election

A by-election took place on Thursday, 12th October 2017, to fill a vacancy in the Inverurie and District Ward (Ward 11) of Aberdeenshire Council, caused by the resignation of Councillor Colin Clark.

Five candidates contested the Ward 11 by-election, after which Lesley Berry (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) was elected under the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. The other candidates were Scott Bremner (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Sarah Flavell (Scottish Labour Party), Elaine Mitchell (Scottish National Party), and Craig Stewart (Scottish Green Party).

The election count for Ward 11 was conducted electronically in the Garioch Sports Centre, Inverurie, on Friday, 13th October. The first preference votes for each of the candidates were:

  • Lesley Berry (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) - 1,672
  • Scott Bremner (Scottish Liberal Democrats) - 295
  • Sarah Flavell (Scottish Labour Party) - 276
  • Elaine Mitchell (Scottish National Party) - 1,146
  • Craig Stewart (Scottish Green Party) - 56

After the application of STV rules, Lesley Berry was elected at the 4th stage.

The turnout in Ward 11 was 30.9%.

View our election documents:

View our electronic count reports:

Find out how votes are calculated to understand the voting information.

Contact us

For further information, contact the Election Team.