Scottish Parliamentary Election 2021

A Scottish Parliamentary Election was held on Thursday, 6th May 2021. Votes were counted on Friday, 7th May and Saturday 8th May 2021.


View election results for each constituency and the North East region:

Aberdeenshire West

Turnout: 69.72%

Candidate name Party Result Votes
Andrew Philip BROWN Scottish Labour Party    2,382
Rosemary BRUCE Scottish Liberal Democrats    3,363
Alexander BURNETT Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party  Elected  19,709
Fergus MUTCH Scottish National Party    16,319


Aberdeenshire East

Turnout: 64.25%

Candidate name Party Result Votes
Graeme James DOWNIE Scottish Labour Party    2,900
Gillian Anne MARTIN Scottish National Party  Elected  18,307
Stewart WHYTE Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party    16,418
Conrad James WOOD Scottish Liberal Democrats    3,396


Banffshire and Buchan Coast

Turnout: 56.23%

Candidate name Party Result Votes
Karen ADAM Scottish National Party  Elected  14,920
Jason DUNCAN Freedom Alliance – Integrity, Society, Economy    347
Mark FINDLATER  Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party    14,148
David Philip McHUTCHON Restore Scotland    331
Alison SIMPSON Scottish Liberal Democrats    1,071
Georgia STRACHAN Scottish Labour Party    2,169


North East Scotland Region

Turnout: 61.40%

Party or candidate name Elected candidate Votes
Abolish the Scottish Parliament   1,218
Alba Party   8,269
All for Unity   2,591
Freedom Alliance – Integrity, Society, Economy   1,011
Independent Green Voice   2,019
Reform UK   1,056
Renew   95
Restore Scotland   712
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party Liam KERR
Maurice GOLDEN
Scottish Family Party   2,311
Scottish Green Party Maggie CHAPMAN 22,735
Scottish Labour Party Michael MARRA
Scottish Liberal Democrats   18,051
Scottish Libertarian Party   653
Scottish National Party (SNP)   147,910
UK Independence Party (UKIP)   599
FARQUHARSON, Geoffrey Alexander (Independent)   156
MARSHALL, Laura (Independent)   354

View declaration of results for the North East Scotland Region (PDF 96KB).

Notice of Election


Notice of inspection of candidates’ expenses

Notice is hereby given that the Returns and Declarations, including the accompanying documents as to the Election Expenses, of each of the candidates at the Scottish Parliament Election for the Banffshire and Buchan Coast, Aberdeenshire East and Aberdeenshire West Constituencies held on 6th May 2021 are open to inspection by any person at Aberdeenshire Council, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen AB16 5GB, during normal office hours and by prior appointment, for a period of two years.

Appointments can be made by contacting the Elections Office at


For further information about the Scottish Parliament Election, please contact our Elections team by emailing