Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards

The eleventh biennial Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards (AALDA) is now in full swing and following two successful rounds of judging we have our finalists. All semi-finalists will be available to see online as of the 1st August by clicking on the categories below.

As a council we are passionate about ensuring that our built environment is of the highest quality, fuelled by cutting edge design which ensures that people are at the heart of all developments in our area. The environment in which we live is of the upmost importance, human beings thrive in buildings and developments where both functionality and beauty are considered equally. The awards seek to highlight and encourage great design.

This year, as part of the Scottish Government’s Year of Young People, we are asking the next generation of designers to focus on the needs of our ageing population. The Student Award asks those at the start of their careers to produce conceptual schemes dealing with issues such as mobility, dementia, social isolation, health and wellbeing to provide innovative concepts for future proof living.

2018 submission categories

The closing date for submissions has now passed for all categories. The public vote for Future proof living (student submission) is open.

Design awards Category Icons-01-resized.pngInnovative solutions to housing need

This category focuses on conceptual designs of sheltered or affordable housing development. Find out more and submit your entry

Design awards Category Icons-03_resized.pngConservation and building adaptation

This category focuses on the re-use and innovative new use of existing buildings. Find out more and submit your entry.

Design awards Category Icons-05_resized.pngInnovative single house design

This category focuses on individual properties which demonstrate environmental, functional, physical and social value. Find out more and submit your entry.

Design awards Category Icons-07_resized.pngLandscape design

This category focuses on landscape design and place making either in isolation or as part of a wider development. Find out more and submit your entry.  

Design awards Category Icons-02-resized.png

Future proof living (student submission)

This category focuses on conceptual designs which meet the changing demographics. Find out more and submit your entry.

Design awards Category Icons-04_resized.pngBuilding communities for the future

This category focuses on residential developments that create communities as well as delivering housing. Find out more and submit your entry.

Design awards Category Icons-06_resized.pngBusiness enterprise

This category focuses on commercial or community development. Find out more and submit your entry

Should you require any further information please email us at