Master Planning (student submission)

This design award category focuses on design solutions which meet the changing demographics of Aberdeenshire. The Masterplan will demonstrate how it provides for the needs of older occupants either generally or for specific requirements such as dementia friendly living. The scheme will be judged not only on the quality of the building design but also the layout, siting, relationship with each other and the use of public open spaces to develop a community feel.

Entries for this category must be conceptual (not built). 

There are a number of things you should know before you enter the design awards:

Judging criteria

Projects must show exceptional merit and quality to receive an award. In addition to the individual category requirements all entries will be judged on the overarching criteria of:

  • sustainability - response to envisaged context, natural capital, energy, transport and health
  • innovation - demonstrate how you use innovation to deliver a low energy, low carbon, sustainable solution that is cost effective and deliverable
  • cost - your project should reflect the long term cost benefit of the design

What to submit

For this category, you will need to provide a supporting statement that must not exceed 300 words and should be included within A1 PDFs. It should clarify how your entry complies with both the overall and category specific judging criteria.

As well as your supporting statement, you will need to submit site plans and visuals 

Before you submit your entry, ensure that it is in the correct format: 

  • 2 x A1, single sided, landscape orientation
  • PDF format, no crops or bleed
  • High resolution files, minimum 300dpi for printing
  • CMYK colour no spot

How to submit

All entries must be received by 23 February 2018.

You can submit your entry online by completing the nomination form and attaching each A1 PDF file individually (the total size of both files should not exceed 25MB). 

Submit your nomination entry online

Students can also submit entries physically, contact us to request a nomination form. 

Judging process

You will receive an acknowledgement for your entry which will be automatically entered into the first round of judging taking place on 20th April 2018. 

The entries that pass the first judging stage, will be entered into an online public vote that will run between May and June 2018.

The 2nd judging stage and site visits (for the built categories) will take place on 14th and 15th June 2018.

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony in October 2018 with all entrants being invited to attend.

The judging panel for the 2018 awards will comprise: 

  • The Chair and Vice Chair of Infrastructure Services Committee
  • The President of the Aberdeen Society of Architects
  • An architect from the Planning and Architectural Division of the Scottish Government
  • A Senior Casework Officer from Historic Environment Scotland
  • A Scottish Natural Heritage Landscape Policy and Advice Officer
  • A senior lecturer from the Scott Sutherland School of Architecture

Help us improve