10 October 2023

Decades of dedication recognised at community council long service awards

The dedication of community council members from across Aberdeenshire has been recognised in an awards ceremony.

The Community Council Long Service Awards honoured more than 40 community council representatives who have each served for more than 20 years.

The event, held by Aberdeenshire Council at Inverurie Community Campus, was hosted by Provost of Aberdeenshire Cllr Judy Whyte, who praised those attending for their hard work over the years.

“People often get involved to tackle an issue close to their heart and then stay on to serve for many years. Others step forward to ensure the continuation of that local voice,” she said.

“Your contributions over the years have been significant, and have no doubt played an important part in Aberdeenshire regularly topping the tables of being one of the best places in the country to live.”

It is 50 years since community councils came into being, under the Local Government Scotland Act in 1973. Since then, community council members have played an increasing role in working with Aberdeenshire Council, commenting on planning applications, securing funds for local initiatives, and supporting communities at times of need.

As the awards got underway, each representative was presented with a certificate and a community council branded pen in recognition of their service. A commemorative cake was cut, and music was played by pupils from Inverurie Academy.

The event also provided an opportunity for community council representatives to meet each other and share stories, and to hear about the support available to the groups.

Also attending was Leader of Aberdeenshire Council Cllr Gillian Owen, who said: “It was a lovely evening, and a great opportunity to recognise the long-standing and ongoing dedication of community councils to their communities.

“Community councils play such an important role locally and it’s important that they continue to thrive. I would encourage anybody with an interest in supporting their communities to find out more about the work of their local group and to consider joining when the opportunity arises.”

For more information about Aberdeenshire community councils and opportunities to get involved, visit

The full list of award recipients can be found below.

Fordyce, Sandend and District Community Council

Bertie Robertson, Ivan Owen, Jane Winfield

New Aberdour, Tyrie and Pennan Community Council

Gordon Duguid

Whitehills Community Council

Charles Findlay, Duncan Leece

Cruden Community Council

Stuart Johnson

Deer Community Council

George Burnett Stuart, Hamish MacDonald, Liz Grieve, Norman Burnett, Sandra Buckman

Longside Community Council

Roger Bryce

Mintlaw Community Council

Fiona Pringle, Joan Whyte, Myra McCredie

Fyvie, Rothienorman and Monquhitter Community Council

Ian Gray, John MacKenzie

Tarves Community Council

Colin Taylor, Ian Massie, Robert Davidson

Turriff and District Community Council

Rose Logan

Cluny, Midmar and Monymusk Community Council

Peter Fraser, Richard Fyffe

Echt and Skene Community Council

Ian MacMaster

Fintray Community Council

Richard Taylor

Inverurie Community Council

Mike Hebenton

Newmachar Community Council

Gordon Murray, Mike Taylor, Robert Loughbridge, Sandy Buchan

Bennachie Community Council

Alan Simpson

Crathes, Durmoak and Durris Community Council

David Morrish

Mearns Community Council

Chris Rushbridge, Janette Anderson, Jim Stuart

Royal Burgh of Inverbervie Community Council

Alick Smith

Stonehaven and District Community Council

Ian Hunter, Raymond Christie

Ballater and Crathie Community Council

Pat Downie

Tap O’ Noth Community Council

David Grant, George Beverly, Paul Manning