Coronavirus (COVID-19)

View updates on coronavirus and council services. If you are affected and need assistance, please visit Grampian Coronavirus (COVID-19) Assistance Hub.

Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards

The 12th biennial Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards (AALDA) judging phases are well underway. For the 2020 scheme we received a wide range of exciting submissions across the 7 categories and following our first round of judging, 26th March 2020, we now have our 27 finalists and 3 Student finalists who we will be promoting through social media over the coming weeks.

Visual representation of design awards submissions

We recognise the significant effort it takes architects and agents to prepare submissions, but we also recognise the very real issues surrounding COVID-19. We have therefore decided to go digital, to allow the award scheme to go ahead, without any need for face to face contact. In these unprecedented times, our second round of judging will take place in November 2020 and will be followed by a virtual celebration of our winners.

As a means to engage with the younger generation of professionals, on top of our normal panel of experts we also have Rachael O’Donnell, a final year Architecture student at the Scott Sutherland School of Architecture and joint President of the 57°10 Architecture Society. She will be sitting on the judging panel for all categories (excluding the student award) and it will be great to get a fresh perspective on this year’s submissions.

You can view all award winners from the 2018 scheme.

2020 submission categories

The closing date for submissions in all categories has now passed. The 2020 award finalists can be viewed in each of the 7 categories.

Design awards Category Icons-01-resized.pngInnovative solutions to housing need

Conceptual or completed projects that demonstrate innovation in social, sheltered and affordable housing (including smaller properties). View the innovative solutions to housing need category.

Design awards Category Icons-03_resized.pngConservation and building adaptation

The scheme must either demonstrate exceptional standards in the field of conservation or deliver an appropriate new use for a previously underutilised structureView the conservation and building adaptation category.

Design awards Category Icons-05_resized.pngInnovative single house design (including extensions)

This category focuses on individual properties and extensions. The scheme must demonstrate the very best in construction, layout, siting and design. View the innovative single house design category.

Design awards Category Icons-07_resized.pngLandscape design

Entries must demonstrate excellence in the design and formation of community open space, parks, gardens or other green infrastructure projects. View the landscape design category.

Design awards Category Icons-02-resized.png

Future proof living (student only category)

This conceptual design award category focuses on innovative solutions to address the specific needs of an ageing population. View the future proof living category.

Design awards Category Icons-04_resized.pngBuilding communities for the future

This category focuses on residential developments. The scheme will not only deliver well designed and attractive housing, but also demonstrate how a considered layout can create communities. View the building communities for the future category.

Design awards Category Icons-06_resized.pngBusiness enterprise

This category focuses on commercial or community development. The submission can either be a new build or redevelopment project which demonstrates outstanding merit in its design, functionality, ethos and development. View the business enterprise category.

Should you require any further information please email us at