Mid Formartine By-Election 2021

A local government by-election took place on Thursday, 19th August 2021 to fill a vacancy in the Mid Formartine Ward.

Declaration of results

The total number of votes given for each candidate at the by-election was as follows:

  • Jeff Goodhall (Scottish Liberal Democrats) - 412 votes
  • Peter Kennedy (Scottish Green Party) - 144
  • Jenny Nicol (Scottish National Party SNP) - 1,205 votes
  • Sheila Powell (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party) - 1,480

Sheila Powell has been duly elected as the councillor for the Mid Formartine ward.

The total electorate for the Mid Formartine ward was 11,670.

The number of first preferences was 3,241.

The percentage poll was 27.9%

Additional information


Notice of inspection of candidates’ expenses

Notice is hereby given that the Returns and Declarations, including the accompanying documents as to the Election Expenses, of each of the Candidates at the Local Government By-Election for the Mid Formartine Ward held on 19th August 2021 are open to inspection by any person at Aberdeenshire Council, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen AB16 5GB, during normal office hours and by prior appointment, for a period of two years.

Appointments can be made by contacting the Elections Office at


For further information about the local government by-election, please contact our Elections team by emailing